Packing

So I am five days away from leaving the country for two years (well technically four because it’s 2 AM). I am moving to Senegal as an urban agriculturalist for the Peace Corps. For those of you who know me, you are surely laughing at the idea of me, OUTSIDE, planting things. Yes, it is HILARIOUS. We will see what happens. Hilarity will definitely ensue. Of this I can promise.

So I just moved out of my apartment in Orlando, so my house in Tallahassee has become a breeding ground for piles of my crap. No flat surface is bare. Books, clothes, and all sorts of knickknacks have actually made a b-line for the door and are lying around on the floor. Fortunately, it is organized chaos, and everything seems to be under control (although if you don’t hear from me in the next few days, come knocking).

In one corner of the living room is my new suitcase (grad gift from the ‘rents, unnamed for now), which is practically filled with the first round of my stuff. It is unfortunate that I filled the majority of a large suitcase with stuff I saw and threw into a pile at random. “Cool…I forgot I owned this shirt. Hey! I should bring it with me!” or “I am TOTALLY gonna want to read this 2,000-page, hardback Stephen King novel in Africa! BONUS: It’ll make a terrific blunt object to beat off attackers with!” When it comes time to ACTUALLY pack, I am gonna be majorly effed (King stays though).

My last week in the States has been spent finalizing my move from Orlando and saying goodbye, as well as doing things for the last time. Finalizing my move = the actual act of MOVING, organizing/hiding all my personal belongings so it’s not discarded by my father, etc. Saying goodbye = totally sucks and I wouldn’t recommend it (nor does it get easier…believe me). Doing things for the last time = this mostly involves gorging myself on American delicacies of unhealthiness…soon I may have to purchase an additional seat on my flight to Senegal just for the left half of my body.

I will try to update this as often as possible, although I am unsure how the internet will be in Africa. I will soon find out!

PS: Don’t think I’m the kind of person who shamelessly and embarrassingly plugs his blog. I’m too cool for that (although my blog totally kicks ass and you should read it 24/7).

PPS: Next entry = The Adventures of Jamie Getting His H1N1 Shot.

    • Lindsey
    • August 5th, 2010

    Adore the blog and miss you already. I hope you have unhealthy awesomeness planned for our lunch hour. Way too many good quotes/observations to repeat, but for sheer reach and topicalness, my fave is, “For those of you who know me, you are surely laughing at the idea of me, OUTSIDE, planting things. Yes, it is HILARIOUS.”

    • Sara
    • August 5th, 2010

    You are funny. My fav is the “breeding ground for piles of my crap.” You better have Internet so we can talk to you! that’s all I’m saying. Oh and I was going to put this from sca-rah but thought it could scare the new people. We will wait till you are in Africa for that.

    • Kristen
    • August 5th, 2010

    Oh how I hear your voice as I read through your blog. You are beyond hilarious and amazing Jamie (even though I feel like I need to call you James like I did when we first met, refusing to call you Jamie=]). You need to fatten yourself that way when you are malnourished in Africa, your body has an extra layer to live off of! What am I saying, you will not be malnourished, you will just be exercising by running with cheetahs and such. I am so proud of you btw. I will be keeping up, I promise!

    Love,
    Your Amazon ❤

    • Gale
    • August 5th, 2010

    Okay, the entry is great…I only teared up once or twice (tears of joy and tears of “I already miss you!”) I am proud beyond words – although that won’t stop me from continuing. I truly hope the Peace Corp knows how fortunate they are to have you for 2 years… if not, I’ll totally kick ass (your words, not mine). Love you, keep your sense of humor, and continue to share it with us!

    • Fenella
    • August 5th, 2010

    Hi luv. Can’t believe it’s so soon! Let me know your address as soon as you know it so i can send postcards.
    Good luck with the packing. Have you thought of something like an eReader/Kindle to take a library with you?

    bit that tickled me – though i know it shouldn’t – is the bit about hiding your stuff in case you dad chucks it out.

    will def read your ramblings.

    smooches: F

    • E Alv
    • August 5th, 2010

    I’m glad you’re finally going to read my Christmas present! You are already missed, Maroo and I cannot stop talking about you. I have been rocking your YICHY’s and am proudly sharing it with any bookstore employee that will listen (they’re all ravaged with jealousy, of course). Love you.

    • Allyson
    • August 6th, 2010

    You did not “move out” of your apt in Orlando, you grabbed some stuff and fled. Also, Bex asked about you–she was like “is James already gone? In Africa?” and then she started to cry. I always knew she liked you better…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

