Arlington, VA

I AM SO TIRED. I had to get up at 5 AM, and I couldn’t fall asleep until 2 AM because I was nervous/had to finish an ep of ‘The Next Food Network Star’, which I don’t even watch! I had to finish it though.

Getting up this morning and saying goodbye to my family was hard/sad. Luckily my dad took me to the airport, so I didn’t have a blubbering mess on my hands (aka my mother).

So I made it to Northern Virginia aka D.C. It was weird flying in…I saw the Pentagon AND the Washington Monument! I also found the group of PC kids I was carpooling with to the airport. We took a shuttle, and I got to meet my first 8 fellow trainees. They were all super nice. I checked into the hotel and dressed into my fancy outfit (which ironically looked like my bookstore attire: black collared shirt and khakis…I can never escape that place).

A lot of paperwork was filled out/turned in, which unfortunately for you guys is neither entertaining nor funny.

Orientation was interesting. Mostly informational/get to know you. There are 65 people in my training class, and all of them are either agriculture (urban or sustainable/rural), SED (small enterprise development) or agroforestry. We are all leaving tomorrow and will be together for the next couple weeks. I met a lot of people but only remember a few names. There are SO many people, and I look forward to getting to know some/all of them. I haven’t even met everyone! It’s super weird though…I keep thinking things like, “When I get home, I’m gonna have to tell _____ about this!” Then I realize I’m not going home. It’s super sad.

Tonight I had my last supper at this Mexican restaurant called Uncle Julio’s. Not in FL, but apparently they have them in D.C. and Texas, amongst other places. It was delicious.

Tomorrow, we are checking out of the hotel, then going to get our shots (yellow fever included…yikes). Then at noon we are leaving for the airport. The flight to Dakar is at 5:40 PM and arrives there at 5:50 AM (local time) Wednesday morning. I am excited.

My next post will be from Africa! Which is intense. Sorry this one is so brief/unexciting. I am exhausted and need to go to bed.

    • Sara
    • August 9th, 2010

    I write you this long sweet note but it did not save! Anger now! It’s late and my and only sweet sec is gone so forget it. The short version is love you and safe flight to Africa!

    • E Alv
    • August 10th, 2010

    I’m glad your last meal was the food of my people, since all hispanics are Mexican.

    • Gale (aka mama)
    • August 10th, 2010

    “Blubbering mess?” Only in the shower, behind closed doors, only changed my pillowcase twice last night….not! I am sad, but much more excited, interested, and proud. Fly safe, land safer, chat frequently!

    • Lindsey
    • August 10th, 2010

    You’ll just have to “tell us” the stuff in your blog. Glad you survived the first day. Can’t wait for first African post.

    • The Amazon
    • August 10th, 2010

    Bahahaha at E Alv’s comment! I am excited to hear about your flight and I’m so excited for Africa! Living vicariously through you 🙂 love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

