Things…

…I don’t use: toilet paper, knives and forks, my French, pillows, shoes and socks.

…I miss about America: burritos, sushi, Diet Coke (Coke Light isn’t the same), cleanliness, Starbucks, fast Internet, anonymity, washing machines, my family, bagels with cream cheese.

…I thought I’d miss but don’t: constant Internet access.

…I love here: shade, water so cold it hurts to drink, the babies in my family, bean sandwiches, free rides, mangoes, oscillating fans, hard boiled eggs for breakfast, free stuff from the vegetable guy in the market, bread made in wood burning ovens, starting a book, finishing a book, understanding everything someone says to me, free calling, sleeping on the roof, sleeping in, inventive cocktails made with shitty alcohol, my headlamp, cashews, mangroves.

…I hate here: the sun, mosquitoes in your net, mosquitoes in general, constant diarrhea, rude children, clothes that never get truly clean, public transportation, dehydration, people who tell me I can’t speak Wolof, garages, people who refuse to provide change, unpaved roads, extra loud mosques, cracked heels, “Toubab! Toubab!”

…I’m shamelessly addicted to: MSG, chicken spam, hand sanitizer, Laughing Cow cheese.

I’m leaving in four months.

    • B
    • May 9th, 2012

    will have to un-hook you from that MSG when you get back. but we will never un-hook the ginny weasley!! ps. a bean sandwich sounds fantastic!

    • kristen :)
    • May 9th, 2012

    Omg. 4 months! So excited and Things you miss in America – KH 🙂 love you boo!

    • Lindsey
    • May 10th, 2012

    🙂 🙂 It’s been too long!!

    • White
    • May 10th, 2012

    I love that half the things you miss are food. Don’t worry, 4 months and you can gorge on burritos and wash it down with Starbucks every day. You’ll weigh 400 lbs and be constantly jacked on coffee, but it’ll be delish. Also, the other day I was describing eating fresh bread in Senegal and how it was the best thing I had ever tasted– warm out of the oven.

    PS – America has mangroves too!

    • Sca-rah
    • May 10th, 2012

    I find it interesting that of the things you miss, your family is listed second to last behind a bunch of food. Oh hobo! Classic Jamilla. Please bring back some of the babies and fresh bread because I think that would be awesome here too. Not much left until we can scream (much like the cartoon dinosaur movie) WE’RE BACK because (much like Grease) the whole gang is back together again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

